About Civil Service Examination (CSE)

General Studies (GS) Syllabus holds significant importance in UPSC Prelims & Mains exam. UPSC Syllabus for Prelims is split into two sections, one for each paper. Objective-type questions with multiple choice (MCQ's) from the General Studies syllabus are asked in Prelims Paper-I and Paper-II with 200 marks each.

The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts the Civil Services Examination (CSE) in three stages:

  • Preliminary Examination
  • Main Examination,

Preliminary Examination:
  • This is the first stage of the UPSC CSE and consists of two papers: General Studies Paper I and General Studies Paper II (CSAT).
  • General Studies Paper I focuses on testing candidates' knowledge on various subjects such as History, Geography, Polity, Economy, Science and Technology, Environment, and Current Affairs.
  • General Studies Paper II (CSAT) tests candidates' aptitude and comprehension skills.
Main Examination:
  • The Main Examination is the second stage and consists of nine papers. Out of these, two papers are qualifying in nature - one is an Indian language paper, and the other is English.
  • The remaining seven papers are considered for merit. These include Essay, General Studies I to IV, Optional Paper I, and Optional Paper II.
Paper I - General Studies Paper I
  • Current events of national and international importance
  • History of India and Indian National Movement
  • Indian and World Geography - Physical, Social, Economic geography of India and the World.
  • Indian Polity and Governance - Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues
  • Economic and Social Development - Sustainable Development, Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector Initiatives, etc.
  • General issues on Environmental Ecology, Biodiversity and Climate Change - that do not require subject specialisation